Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

New year, new foods January 1, 2011

Filed under: Snack — krandle @ 8:00 am

When I hear the word “cleanse,” my stomach immediately turns.  I simply refuse to drink pureed green beans and sprouted wheat for four weeks just to make my small intestine happy. Do you hear that, small intestine? I just don’t care that much.

That’s why I was intrigued by the new “cleanse” that Bon Appétit has for 2011: “The Food-Lover’s Cleanse.” It sounds like something I could sink my teeth into.

The problem is that this lovely-sounding diet doesn’t take into account that a) some of us have jobs/lives/etc. and can’t spend all our time at fancy grocery stores hunting down weird ingredients, b) some of us have budgets for our groceries, and c) some of us don’t know how to cook everything on earth and aren’t sure we’d like it if we knew how to cook it.

So, we’re doing a hybrid. We’ll use some of their ideas and recipes, substituting whatever we can think of that is easier to make/eat and whatever fits into our budget.

Here’s to eating new, healthy things!

 

One Response to “New year, new foods”

  1. krandle Says:

    I can’t wait to see what comes next. I, too, hate the idea of drinking liquified green beans.
    Vespachick


Leave a Reply

