Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Sweet Potato Hummus January 4, 2011

Filed under: Snack,Vegan,Vegetarian — krandle @ 10:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sweet Potato Hummus from Living Well’s recipe

About 1 pound sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
2 carrots
1 can (19.5 ounces) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (from 1 lemon)
1/4 cup tahini (I substituted natural peanut butter; can’t buy 1/4 cup of tahini)
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 tsp. minced garlic
Coarse salt and ground pepper
Whole-wheat pita and crudites such as red pepper and broccoli

Set a steamer basket in a large pot. Fill with enough water to come just below basket; bring to a boil. Add potatoes; reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook until tender, 10 to 12 minutes. Transfer to a food processor.

Combine chickpeas, lemon juice, tahini, oil, cumin, and garlic in the food processor. Puree, about 1 minute; thin with water if necessary. Season with salt and pepper and let cool; refrigerate, in an airtight container, up to 1 week. Serve with pita and crudites.

Per half cup of hummus, 403 calories, 106 calories from fat, 60.2 g carbohydrates, 14.9 g dietary fiber, 16.8 g protein

$4 for entire recipe = $.50 per half cup of hummus…but more for the chips/vegetables you want to dip in it

_________________________________________________________________

Ok, it’s not really a hummus. But, I love it. And someone else called it hummus before I did, so that’s what I’ll call it too. It’s so wonderful and creamy and excellent for making vegetables taste better. Even the house boyfriends (mine and my roommate’s) decided that this was an acceptable dip (though they preferred dipping pita and tortilla chips to dipping broccoli).

I added carrots to the original recipe to sneak in some more vegetables. In my shiny, brand new food processor, the carrots don’t blend in quite as well as the sweet potatoes, but I like the added texture.

I decided to make that instead of edamame hummus suggested for Day 3–I’d rather just steam the edamame and eat it. Plus, since I’m trying to pawn it off on the boyfriend who doesn’t favor vegetables, I figured sweet potatoes were a better bet.

And, sorry, I just cannot try the dinner recipe. I don’t actually want to try kombu for the first time when I make it. I’d rather have a chef in a real restaurant make it for me. And has anyone heard of burdock root? Let’s not even talk about the very strange styles for cutting vegetables mentioned.

Tonight is all about the leftovers.

 

2 Responses to “Sweet Potato Hummus”

  1. Michelle Jackson Says:

    I saw that kombu recipe as a “leftover” item for lunch on day 6 I think… not interested in braving that either! My adventurousness with food stops at seaweed unfortunately… but maybe I’ve never had a good dish with it?

  2. […] instead of sweet potatoes. We’ve been eating a LOT of sweet potatoes this week, what with the sweet potato hummus and the sweet potato lentil […]


Leave a Reply

