Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Avocado and Grapefruit Salad January 9, 2011

Filed under: Lunch,Salad,Vegan,Vegetarian — krandle @ 12:59 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Grapefruits taste like summer. I recognize that they’re in season in the winter, and January and February are known in my kitchen as the months during which I maintain ruby red armies in the vegetable crisper. But they taste pink and refreshing, and when they were on top of a salad next to some creamy avocados, they reminded me of June.

That thought could have been inspired by the fact that I ate this for lunch at work on a day I had 5 conference calls, but I’m going to go with the idea that the flavors spoke to me.

Avocado and Grapefruit Salad, modified from the original, as part of Day 8 of our cleanse experiment

Serves 2

Apple cider vinegar
White wine
Fresh grapefruit juice
Minced onion
Sesame oil
Olive oil
Salt
Salad greenery (butter lettuce is recommended, but I used arugula and some other mixed salad)
1 ripe avocado, halved, pitted, peeled, thinly sliced, rinsed under cold water
1 large Ruby Red grapefruit, all peel and white pith cut away, segments cut from between membranes

Whisk first ingredients in small bowl to blend. Gradually whisk in both oils. Season dressing to taste with salt and pepper.

Arrange lettuce on platter. Top with avocado and grapefruit, then dressing.

Note: When taking this salad on the go, put the grapefruit and avocado in a separate container – but if you keep them together, the citrus juice keeps the avocado from getting too brown.

 

One Response to “Avocado and Grapefruit Salad”

  1. Maire (Again) Says:

    Please stop using my favorite ingredients, you two! You’re making me feel so desperate to spend time buying/throwing things together, rather than lazing about and rollllllling out of bed in a rather delayed manner (as is my wont of late).

    I appreciate that this combines “traditional one-food diet fruit” with “notoriously fatty (even if good fatty) vegetable-thing.”


Leave a Reply

