Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Tomato/Cheese/Scallion Omelet March 10, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,Lunch,Vegetarian — Michelle Jackson @ 12:23 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This is really kind of a pedestrian staple dish, but it’s actually a personal triumph for me: I have never made a successful (i.e., aesthetically pleasing) omelet. Instead, I make egg messes. They are fully cooked and still tasty, but never the crispy/fluffy, cute little half-moons that other people seem to be capable of.  That all changed this morning.  Maybe it was the pan or the spatula, or the fact that I thought I’d put on the burner for tea when really I was preheating my frying pan forever (this might actually be the secret to success).  Regardless, I didn’t make a heaping mess of it, and it’s given a new sense of fun possibility to this rainy day in Brooklyn.  (p.s., That’s also my favorite set of dishes.)

For the omelet:

Little bit of cooking spray

2 eggs, beaten with a fork

2-3 scallions, rinsed and chopped

1 tomato, rinsed and diced (I haven’t had tomatoes in forever, so I’m extremely excited they had semi-decent ones this week!)

1/4 cup extra sharp cheddar cheese (or cheese of your choosing)

Pepper and garlic powder to taste

1 tablespoon garlic hummus (optional)

Start by spraying and preheating the skillet… there is no real rule for how long or on what heat level. I accidentally had it on high for over 5 minutes, noticed my tea kettle wasn’t the one whistling, and then lowered the heat, waited a minute, and poured the egg mixture into the pan. Throw in the tomato, scallions, and cheese on top of the eggs and sort of shake the skillet gently to evenly coat the bottom of the pan and spread around the toppings. Sprinkle with pepper and garlic powder (I did about a teaspoon each). Cook on medium heat for a little while, and watch for the edges to get crispier/fluffy.  When things start to look like they’re solidifying, fold the omelet over and cook on both sides (a LARGE spatula really makes this easy, no one ever told me that).  Remove from skillet and serve warm.  Taking a cue from my roommate Meg, I topped mine with garlic hummus– adds a nice texture and flavor contrast to things. For next time, I’d probably sprinkle a bit of Sriracha sauce for some heat.

 

2 Responses to “Tomato/Cheese/Scallion Omelet”

  1. krandle Says:

    Sriracha is the best thing ever.

    I’m going home and making eggs.

  2. […] and corn, and skipped the salsa, replacing it with a few tablespoons of Sriracha instead (because we love that spicy […]


Leave a Reply

