Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Vegetarian Corn and Bell Pepper Chowder April 6, 2011


I realize that it’s April, but I just keep wanting to make soup. Weird, I know. Anyways, this recipe is incredibly easy and requires very few ingredients, making it perfect for when you don’t want to run to the grocery store. Also, since you probably already have this stuff lying around, it’s cheap too. We love cheap this week.

If you consult the original recipe from B.A., note that it is incredibly bland. I don’t do bland. So I fixed it and like the end result. It won’t blow your mind, but it’s really easy and really low cal.

Vegetarian Corn and Bell Pepper Chowder

Serves 4

4 cups fresh or frozen corn kernels (thawed if frozen), divided
2 cups vegetable broth, divided in half [I made my own vegetable stock last week, and it is awesome: flavorful and fat-free with almost no salt!]
2 tablespoons butter
1 red bell pepper, chopped [ok, I didn’t have a bell pepper – I used the frozen stir fry kind. It still tasted good.]
1 (5- to 6-ounce) Yukon Gold potato, peeled, cut into 1/2-inch cubes [I just used some red potatoes]
3 large shallots, chopped [and I substituted onion here]
2 tablespoons whipping cream
Chopped green onions, optional
2 Tbs Montreal Chicken Seasoning [At this point, you could substitute any flavors you want – but adding something strong is vital. I think Montreal Chicken and/or Steak Seasoning is absolutely essential for making recipes taste good. Go buy some. Now.]

In the blender, puree 2 cups corn and 1 cup broth until almost smooth.

Meanwhile, melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Saute the bell pepper, potato, and shallots for 5 minutes – if you’re adding a spice, throw in about a tablespoon at this point.

Then, add remaining corn and broth, as well as the corn puree. Bring this mixture to a simmer, then cover and cook for 10 minutes, or until potatoes are soft.

After it’s cooked, stir in the whipping cream and more spices to taste. Ladle into bowls and top with green onions, if desired.

272 Calories per serving: 10.7 g fat, 40.5 g carbohydrates, 6 g dietary fiber…and 97% of your vitamin C requirement for the day

 

2 Responses to “Vegetarian Corn and Bell Pepper Chowder”

  1. vespachick Says:

    Love the colors of this soup.

  2. […] use this, it's not vegetarian any more. but I like it.] 3 cups vegetable stock [yes, still of the homemade variety like I used earlier…I freeze it in convenient measurements so I can just use it whenever […]


Leave a Reply

