Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Broccoli/Mushroom/Pesto Quiche April 18, 2011


I’ve been in somewhat of a food rut these past weeks, and I’m not exactly sure what’s up. Usually, I get bored with oatmeal + soup + salad (repeat) rather quickly… Regardless, I’m coming down the homestretch of finishing my first year of grad school, and I randomly feel motivated to make something more than microwaved grilled cheese tonight.  Quiche is pretty hard to mess up, and I saw this recipe on (never)homemaker that has an interesting oatmeal crust. So I will borrow their crust idea, but I’m not going to use their quiche recipe because I have an old one (I think from K originally?) that uses less ingredients and works really well. (And I kind of hate cooked green peppers, so the veggie content is also diversified.)

Crust:

[**Note: Yes, you can buy the premade pie crusts in the dairy part of the grocery store, but I highly recommend doing your own for three reasons: 1. You know exactly what you’re eating, and are less likely to run into high salt and preservative content, 2. you can jazz things up by adding ground oatmeal or flax seeds for extra protein and nuttier flavor, and 3. it only takes 15 minutes to make with ingredients you probably already have in the pantry.]

3/4 cup oatmeal, ground to a powder in a blender or food processor

1/2 cup flour (white or whole wheat works)

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons milk

3 tablespoons butter or margarine

1 tablespoon water 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grind the oatmeal into a powder using a blender or food processor and combine in a medium bowl with flour and salt.  Chop the butter or margarine into small chunks and then cut in to the flour mixture (i.e., put the pieces in the flour and basically jab at the pieces with a butter knife until they’re evenly dispersed, and the the flour starts to get clumpy). Mix in the milk and water until it forms an elastic ball of dough. Roll out between two sheets of wax paper until the diameter is about 9-10 inches.  Place the dough in a 9″ pie plate and mold to the sides of the dish.  Bake in the oven for about 8-10 minutes (in the meantime start on the filling), when 10 minutes is up, remove and set aside.

Filling:

3 eggs, slightly beaten

1/2 cup milk

1 medium onion

2 cups broccoli, washed and chopped

3 cups mushrooms, patted with a damp paper towel and chopped

3 tablespoons pesto

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Garlic powder and black pepper to taste

Reduce the oven temperature to 325 degrees. Start by prepping and sauteing the onions and mushrooms together with a little bit of olive oil.  Add black pepper and garlic powder to taste (about 1-2 teaspoons each in my case).  When the mushrooms have reduced a little bit, add in the chopped broccoli and cover for 5 minutes. Turn off heat after the broccoli is sufficiently steamed (we want crisp and green, not soggy).  Shred the mozzarella (or just buy it that way, if you prefer). Then beat the eggs together with a fork in a small bowl and whisk in the milk. Add the pesto and pepper/garlic powder to taste.

Take the pie plate with your pre-baked crust and start layering the cheese and vegetables alternately until you run out (I tend to not care if the filling goes over the top of the pie plate, but you can always save what won’t fit in the pie shell and eat it for lunch the next day).  Pour the egg mixture over the vegetables.  Bake for 40-60 minutes until the eggs have set and the top is slightly golden brown.  Cool and serve warm, or store in the fridge (lasts about a week).  You can also freeze the final product and defrost it in the oven (at 325) at a later date.

 

5 Responses to “Broccoli/Mushroom/Pesto Quiche”

  1. That sounds great. I’ve never added pesto to a quiche, can’t wait to try.

  2. krandle Says:

    Your dedication to healthy / non-pre-prepared food is admirable. I totally buy frozen pie crust when I make quiche. (Also, green chiles – those little ones in a can – are an amazing addition to quiche.)

    I hope you put sriracha on this. 🙂

  3. […] love horseradish. [And to our vegetarian readers, I'm sorry this isn't as gourmet as a recipe (like this one) from M would be. I'm not very good at cooking vegetarian. I promise I'll make her post something […]

  4. […] rather like the broccoli/pesto/mushroom quiche M made a while back. And those of you who are brave enough should try her crust recipe since […]

  5. […] crust for this is store-bought in the refrigerated section… hypocritical, I know. (My last quiche recipe stressed the merits of making your own, and I still think it’s a good idea to do it when you […]


Leave a Reply

