Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Peas with Bacon Vinaigrette April 27, 2011

Filed under: Salad,Side dish — krandle @ 10:34 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Usually, I believe vegetables are best served relatively plain. Broccoli should generally not be covered in orange cheese sauce, asparagus should not be doused with lemon, and corn really doesn’t need butter. However, I am breaking my own desire to keep my vegetables healthy with this delicious side dish.

Peas. With bacon. It’s delicious. Maybe it defeats the purpose of vegetables, but it does make for a really easy side dish when you have an otherwise dull meal. And this is one recipe from Everyday Food that I didn’t actually alter. (I don’t actually think a dish with bacon needs too many other spices.)

Peas with Bacon VinaigretteĀ 

4 slices bacon, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
2 small shallots, finely chopped
2 Tbs. white-wine vinegar
1 bag (16 oz) frozen peas, thawed
Salt and pepper
2 Tbs. fresh mint leaves, coarsely chopped

Heat bacon in a large skillet for about 6 minutes, or until bacon begins to crisp. Add shallots and continue cooking for about 6 minutes, or until shallots become translucent and start to brown. Then, stir in vinegar. Add the salt, pepper, and thawed peas, cooking until warmed through. Then, top with mint leaves. [YES! The mint leaves are crucial – they make the flavors stand out from one another and keep the dish tasting fresh]

And you’re done. When divided into 4 portions, you get 206 Calories: 11 g fat, 9 g protein, 19 g carb, 5 g fiber [I made my servings quite a bit smaller; you don’t need a large helping to enjoy the flavors or feel sated]

 

2 Responses to “Peas with Bacon Vinaigrette”

  1. […] I mentioned before, it’s been really hot for April in Philadelphia. It’s really bumming me out – the […]

  2. […] — krandle @ 10:29 pm Tags: bacon, beans, dinner menu, eggs, Soup I like bacon as much as the next gal – but I only ever buy it when it’s on sale (and when I’m […]


Leave a Reply

