Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Soy-Ginger Vegetables May 17, 2011


Today marks the anniversary of starting my job and my real adult life. What an appropriate time to write about boring, green adult food.

I actually thoroughly enjoy vegetables…and I really enjoy them when they’re easy to make. So, frozen vegetables it is. (Plus, they make it easier to make single servings of veggies.) I normally just steam them, but am willing to decrease the healthfulness by adding fat on occasion…if the end result tastes delicious.

And yes, these veggies taste delicious in the end.

Soy-Ginger Vegetables

1 tsp. toasted sesame oil
1 tsp. vegetable oil
2 tsp. minced garlic
1 Tbs. minced fresh ginger
10 oz. frozen vegetables (I used green beans, broccoli, watercress, and carrots in the pictured veggies)
2 Tbs. soy sauce
1/2 cup chicken or vegetable broth
If desired, salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Then, add garlic and ginger, stirring for about a minute. Add the vegetables (no need to thaw) and cook for about 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Then, add broth and soy sauce, cooking for about 2 more  minutes, or until vegetables are tender but still crisp. Season to taste.

Use the extra sauce in the skillet to add some extra flavor to rice.

 

2 Responses to “Soy-Ginger Vegetables”

  1. Now, how sweet is this blog! I love your header and tagline, dahhhlink. I hope you post about your breakfast for strangers. Thanks for the note you sent me.

  2. […] Since I do not have all day to cook, or all the money in the world to make fancy dinners and desserts, or a super fancy SLR camera, I will just post a quick recipe that I easily morphed throughout the week. First I served it as meat, vegetables, and rice…and later blended all three together with additional sauce/spices to make a ‘stir fry’ dish that transported easily to work.  Serve with Soy-Ginger Vegetables. […]


Leave a Reply

