Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Kale: A Retrospective May 25, 2011


As any reader of our little blog knows, M LOVES KALE and eats it like nobody’s business. In all this time, I sat by and ignored all recipes involving kale because I just don’t usually like my vegetables that….green. However, a combination of forces (M’s constant ravings about kale, my having to write about why you should eat it at my job…and my ensuing sense of dishonesty) forced me to reconsider my position.

So, inspired by M’s recipe for crunchy kale and by a similar recipe, I turned the healthiest leafy green into chips.

And, they were good. (They made the house smell kind of weird…but they actually taste fine.)

So, I give you my recipe, below, and links to all our other kale recipes. Go try at least one.

Cooking with Kale

Kufteh-Inspired Black Bean And Red Lentil Patties With Kale
Roasted Chickpeas/Kale/Seitan With Couscous
Low Sodium Tomato Soup
Mushroom Pilaf
Pumpkin Macaroni & Cheese

Kale Chips

Bunch of kale (curly is better)–wash and dry, remove the stems, and rip into 2-in pieces
1 Tbs. olive oil
1 Tbs. sriracha (more or less to taste)
Salt

Preheat the oven to 300. After the kale is prepped, put the pieces on a baking sheet, spreading it out evenly. (Don’t worry if the pieces overlap; they’ll shrink as they cook.) Combine the oil and sriracha, then pour over kale and toss to coat. Season with some salt at this point too. Bake until kale is crisp, tossing every 10 minutes, for about 35 minutes. Make sure you let it cool well.

They’re (almost) chip alternatives…and they’re also good to add to an otherwise boring salad.

 

2 Responses to “Kale: A Retrospective”

  1. Michelle Jackson Says:

    So proud of you for going out of the comfort zone! (I know kale can be an acquired taste…) Kale “chips” are awesome though- I’ll have to add the hot sauce next time I make these. 🙂

  2. vespachick Says:

    Whoa, this one is way out of the ordinary. Your adventurousness is outstanding. Almost makes me want to try this one.


Leave a Reply

