Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Garage sale weekends: Breakfast on the go June 12, 2011


One thing I love about weekends is that I get to actually assemble breakfast…even if that means making Krusteaz pancakes with the blueberries I stuck in my freezer months ago. But, when I also want to go to garage sales that start at the crack of dawn, I also need my homemade breakfast to be (a) portable and (b) quick to make. Two recent favorites for me are a turkey, apple and cheddar breakfast burrito and a bacon, egg, and green chilies breakfast sandwich on cheddar-beer bread. Not only are these some delicious options, they’ve fueled up the boyfriend and I as we’ve snagged lamps, wine glasses,  a coffee table, and a vintage child’s organ. Thanks, Philadelphia suburbs, for your generous yard sales that furnish our lives.

See below for recipes.

Bacon, Egg, and Green Chilies Breakfast Sandwich  (on cheddar-beer bread that I made in my fun new bread maker, acquired at a garage sale)

Serves 2 – takes 15-20 minutes to prep, cook, and package everything

4 slices of bread (If you don’t have a homemade cheddar beer bread, you’ll need to add more spices to the egg mixture to ensure your breakfast has some flavor. Adding cheese like monterey jack or white cheddar to the eggs won’t hurt either.)
4 slices of bacon
4 eggs
1/2 can green chilies
1/2 onion, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste

In a pan, caramelize the chopped onion. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, blend eggs and green chilies (adding milk to thin, if necessary) to scramble eggs. Then, cook eggs omelette style, as neatly as possible, so they’re easy to put into sandwiches. You may want to cook the eggs two at a time to make the omelettes easier to manage. Once eggs are ready, put on two pieces of bread, top with bacon and finish off the sandwich.

The key to keeping this recipe easy is having bacon that you’ve already cooked in the freezer. A few weeks ago, I cooked my bacon, let it cool, then stored it in tightly wrapped tinfoil. Then, I pulled out a few strips, let them defrost for a bit, and popped them in the broiler for a few minutes to get them crispy again. Seemed perfect to me. (Lots of other people on the interwebs have more thorough explanations of how you can save cooked bacon in your freezer, so if you’re really gung ho about discovering multiple methods of storage, go google it.)

 

Turkey, Apple and Cheese Breakfast Burrito (inspired by Sabrina’s Cafe Apple and Wisconsin Cheddar Omelet)

Serves 2 – takes 15-20 minutes to prep, cook, and package everything

3 eggs, scrambled
1/3 cup diced turkey
1/3 cup apples
1/4 cup cheddar cheese
Thyme
Salt
Pepper
Honey mustard
2 tortillas

Season eggs with thyme, salt, and pepper before cooking. Either as an omelet or a scramble, cook eggs with apple, turkey, and cheddar. Cooking so the final product is roughly rectangular is helpful for getting it into a burrito.

Spread honey mustard on the tortillas, then put half of the eggs in each burrito. To make this easy to tote along, wrap in tinfoil, much as you would wrap the tortilla to make a burrito. It also keeps your breakfast warmer longer.

318 Calories per serving: 18.6 g fat, 17.4 g carbohydrates, 1.9 g dietary fiber


 

3 Responses to “Garage sale weekends: Breakfast on the go”

  1. vespachick Says:

    Wow. I would love to garage sale with you if you made me breakfast like those posted!! And what a funny find–an organ.

  2. […] squash (I like this one too, as it combines my abundance of squash with my fascination with my new-ish breadmaker.) Makes quite a delicious base for a grilled […]

  3. […] — krandle @ 10:29 pm Tags: bacon, beans, dinner menu, eggs, Soup I like bacon as much as the next gal – but I only ever buy it when it’s on sale (and when I’m feeling […]


Leave a Reply

