Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Kale-Mushroom Quiche June 14, 2011


I’m on a brunch kick right now, and I’m trying out a few recipes to get ready for the brunch I’m having in a few weeks. And, I found a new quiche recipe that I actually like (which is saying something since I am wholeheartedly dedicated to my own quiche recipe).

It’s rather like the broccoli/pesto/mushroom quiche M made a while back. And those of you who are brave enough should try her crust recipe since it’s fun and healthy.

Kale-Mushroom Quiche 

1 cup kale, chopped very fine
1/2 cup mushrooms, chopped
2 Tbs – 1/4 cup cheese (I used smoked gouda, but parmesan would also be good)
4 eggs
1 cup milk
1 Tbs. flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
1 Tbs. sriracha
and a crust (ok, ok, yes, I bought mine pre-made because I am lazy) 

After you set the crust in your pan, put the kale, mushrooms, and cheese in the bottom of the pan. In a separate bowl, thoroughly whisk together the milk and eggs, then add the spices and sriracha.

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes to an hour. Be sure to let it sit for a few minutes after it’s done. Serve nice and warm. Adding extra sriracha doesn’t hurt either.

 

2 Responses to “Kale-Mushroom Quiche”

  1. Colline Says:

    This looks good! The next time I make quiche, I am going to give it a try.

  2. […] eaten on the road too much lately) and thoroughly enjoying it. It goes quite well with the kale-mushroom quiche I made this […]


Leave a Reply

