Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Shaved Squash Salad June 22, 2011


At my [rented] house in Philadelphia, I have a vast, spacious yard tiny patio with a large[ish] planter box. It is just perfect for growing squash. My squash plants have become, since I first planted them in April, crazy giant monster plants. So, now, I have an incredible amount of squash. [The boyfriend is quite pleased that it’s a mild yellow squash – he was worried he was going to get saddled with pounds of butternut squash when I told him what I planted.]  So, when I saw a recipe on B.A. for a squash salad that involves no cooking but lots of garlic, I knew I had to try it. And, it’s great. Went quite nicely with the other things I served at my recent mini-dinner party.

Shaved Squash Salad 

3 Tbs. almonds, roasted, then coarsely chopped
1 lb. summer squash [I used 2 yellow squashes and 1 zucchini]
3 to 4 handfuls of baby arugula

Dressing [I doubled this part of the recipe since I like the flavor of garlic better than the flavor of squash]
2.5 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil
2 Tbs. lemon juice
1 minced garlic clove
Salt and pepper

Trim the ends off summer squash. Using a vegetable peeler, thinly slice the squash lengthwise into strips and transfer to a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the dressing, then pour over squash shavings. “Toss” (as much as you can toss squash shavings) to coat, and let rest for a few minutes. Then, add some handfuls of baby arugula to the mix.

Garnish with the almonds. [Yes, it’s worth it to buy almonds – without the texture differential in there, the salad doesn’t seem as exciting.]

 

2 Responses to “Shaved Squash Salad”

  1. […] Shaved Squash Salad [ok, I made this for the brunch, but forgot to take it out the fridge. It still counts.] […]


Leave a Reply

