Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Apricot Chicken June 23, 2011

Filed under: Dinner — krandle @ 9:23 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

If you couldn’t tell yet, I adore trying new recipes. Each one feels like a challenge or a puzzle that I have to finagle to get is just the way I want it. As a result, there aren’t too many recipes that I repeat very often, that is, unless you count my “recipe” for leftovers, which includes making burritos out of everything.

This apricot chicken is one of the few recipes that I go back to time and time again. To me, it has a great blend of sweet with a little hint of spicy – and it’s almost universally liked. Also, it’s great to use when I “grill” (the broiler and the Foreman count since I don’t have a barbecue) or roast chicken. I also have a deep affection for apricots, so that basically works out perfectly. I also think this is marvelous because all of these ingredients are always in my pantry.

Apricot Chicken (most recently served with ginger rice as part of a little dinner party)

Chicken (about 1/2 lb) – any type works, though with boneless skinless breasts cut into 1-in cubes, your meat gets at lot more apricot-y
1/4 cup apricot preserves
1.5 tsp. soy sauce
1 tsp. dijon mustard
1 tsp. honey
1 tsp. melted butter

Combine all sauce ingredients and spread over chicken. Basting with remaining sauce part of the way through cooking helps everything stay moist. I like to make a bit extra to serve with the chicken after it’s cooked [food safety psa: if you want to serve the apricot sauce with the cooked chicken, you need to make it separately from the sauce you’re using to baste the chicken so none of the poisonous raw chicken-ness gets in there].  I also use this to marinate chicken in before cooking it. Basically, it’s just a wonderful, all-purpose glaze/sauce/whathaveyou. It’s only downfall is that when it cooks on a surface that isn’t chicken, it crystallizes and burns since it has sugar in it, so the dishes in the end are rather miserable.

 

One Response to “Apricot Chicken”


Leave a Reply

