Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Chocolate Peanut Butter Trifle June 29, 2011


Trifles are the best things ever. I’m not kidding here. If you invite me over and ask me to bring dessert for a crowd, it’s pretty likely I’ll bring a trifle. Who doesn’t love homemade whipped cream or pudding or whatever else rich and delicious goes into a trifle? And if the answer to that question is “everyone at this party doesn’t love it,” then I get to bring the whole thing home and pig out myself. So, I like making trifle.

Anyhow, I decided to try out a new one (partly because the chocolate cupcakes I made just would not come out of the pan and fell into a crumbly mess the night I made them…).

It is delicious. Seriously. It also reminds me of the Peanut Butter Thing, my favorite dessert [in Massachusetts]. It’s the stuff food dreams are made of.

When I fed it to a room of people who had just said they were stuffed, they all finished what I shoved at them. [Ok, the other reason I love trifles and parfaits right now is because I get to use the awesome tasting dishes I got; everyone can eat a tasting dish-worth of dessert.]

The best part of this recipe is the peanut butter whipped cream. If you don’t love trifle, just make that.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Trifle

Start with half a batch of chocolate cake, using whatever recipe you like. Crumble it up, and use half for the bottom layer of your trifle, or spread about half amongst the smaller dishes you’re using.

Top with a layer of chocolate pudding, again using whatever you like. Make this layer thick enough to trap the chocolate cake crumbs, but not so thick that it doesn’t leave enough space for the peanut butter whipped cream.

Then add a layer of peanut butter whipped cream, and repeat the chocolate cake and chocolate pudding layers again. If you feel fancy, pipe some of the whipped cream on top and garnish with mint.

Peanut Butter Whipped Cream

1.5 cups whipping cream
2 Tbs. confectioners sugar
1/4 cup smooth ground peanut butter

In a large bowl, whip 1 cup cream and 2 Tbs. sugar.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the peanut butter and remaining 1/2 cup cream until well blended and peanut butter is really soft. Then, gently fold in the reserved whipped cream, just until blended.

Try not to eat it all at once. Save some for the recipe. Your guests will thank you.

 

2 Responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Trifle”

  1. […] Chocolate Peanut Butter Trifle […]


Leave a Reply

