Breadwinner

……………………………………………………. Baking our mark

Quick Summer Dinner for Two: Pasta with Ricotta, Basil and Tomatoes July 7, 2011


It’s hot. So hot that I don’t want to cook when I come home from work. I’d rather just eat chips and salsa, have a pickle as my ‘vegetable,’ and call it a night (after I’ve eaten some ice cream).

The solution: dinner that requires almost no cooking.

Pasta with Ricotta, Basil and Tomatoes

1.5-2 cups pasta, cooked (I used egg noodles since I don’t like long skinny pastas…because they’re too messy)
1/3 to 1/2 cup low-fat ricotta
1/8 to 1/4 cup cream (you could skip this, but I had some cream in the fridge, at it makes everything delicious)
2 to 3 Tbs. olive oil
1 to 2 tsp. minced garlic
1 to 2 Tbs. sliced sun-dried tomatoes, plus some of the oil used to pack them (I don’t like fresh tomatoes; I’m sure they’d be a delicious substitute if that’s your thing, though)
2 Tbs. fresh basil

In a large bowl, combine ricotta, cream, olive oil, garlic and tomatoes. Add cooked, drained pasta and stir to coat. Toss in basil leaves after pasta has cooled somewhat so leaves don’t wilt.

 

2 Responses to “Quick Summer Dinner for Two: Pasta with Ricotta, Basil and Tomatoes”

  1. […] one is in response to a post from ages ago, that somehow got away from me. Better late than never though. K made a simple hot […]

  2. […] we’ve made pumpkin Gruyere mac, nacho mac, and three cheese mac, and some other random cheese/pasta […]


Leave a Reply

